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All waterfowl hunters are required to have the following in order to 
hunt waterfowl in Tennessee:
1.	 Federal Duck Stamp (except as noted below)
2.	 Tennessee Migratory Bird Permit (HIP permit)
3.	 A state of Tennessee hunting license
4.	 Tennessee Waterfowl License (only required if purchasing Type 001  

hunting license)
5.	 Other permits may be required depending on where you hunt (such as 

WMA permit, Reelfoot Preservation permit, WMA quota hunt permit)
6.	 Light Goose Conservation Season  Permit (free), if you plan to hunt during 

Feb. 14 - March 10, 2016, see page 14.
Refer to the current Tennessee Hunting and Trapping Guide for 
additional regulations regarding waterfowl hunting on individual WMAs.

Federal Duck Stamp $25
  Federal law requires that each waterfowl hunter, age 16 and over, carry on his/ 
  her person, in addition to a hunting license and state migratory bird permit, a  
  valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Federal Duck 
  Stamp) signed in ink across the face. These can be obtained through the Post 
  Office, National Wildlife Refuge offices, and some discount and sporting goods 
  stores. The stamps can also be purchased online at www.duckstamp.com

Tennessee Migratory Bird Permit
  Resident and nonresident hunters must possess a Tennessee Migratory Bird Permit 
  to hunt waterfowl and other migratory birds in Tennessee, available anywhere that 
  hunting and fishing licenses are sold. The following do not need this permit:
•	 Landowners hunting on their own land
•	 Disabled veterans
•	 Tennessee residents 65 years or older
•	 Tennessee residents under 13 years of age
•	 Lifetime Sportsman license holders

Migratory Bird Permit (Type 006) $2

Migratory Bird Permit (Type 007)  
Only available to Annual Sportsman license holders.

no fee

Resident Licenses
Hunting and Fishing Combination (Type 001) Age 16–64 $34

Tennessee Waterfowl (Type 005) Age 16 and over 
Needed in addition to Type 001 if waterfowl hunting. $38

Annual Sportsman (Type 004) Age 16–64 $166

An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing. 
No supplemental licenses are required, but other permits may need 
to be purchased. Allows holders to apply for quota hunt permits at no 
additional fee. 

Lifetime Sportsman				    Age determines the cost

An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing. 
No supplemental licenses are required, but other permits may need 
to be purchased. Allows holders to apply for quota hunt permits at no 
additional fee. Applications and fee listings by age are available at your 
TWRA regional offices and on the TWRA website.

Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish (Type 002) $10

 Age 12 and under - no license required. WMA, special season permits, or quota 
   hunt permits may be required. 

Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman (Type 167) $50

An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing. 
No supplemental licenses are required, but other permits may need 
to be purchased. Allows holders to apply for quota hunt permits at no 
additional fee. Available at all license agents and can only be purchased 
when 65th birthday is reached. 

Nonresident Licenses - Adult (Age 16 and Over)
7-Day Hunt – Small Game/Waterfowl (Type 072) $61.50

Annual Hunt –  Small Game/Waterfowl (Type 071) $111.00

7-Day Hunt - All Game (Type 074) $214.50

Annual Hunt - All Game (Type 073) $306.00

Nonresident Licenses - Junior
   Age 12 and under - no license required. WMA, special season permits, or quota 
   hunt permits may be required. 

Annual Junior Hunt/Trap/Fish (Type 070) 
Required for nonresidents ages 13–15 to fish or hunt small 
game (including waterfowl). A Type 085 or 086 is required 
to hunt big game.

$11.00

7-Day Junior Hunt - All Game (Type 085) $26.50

Annual Junior Hunt - All Game (Type 086) $42.00

Ages 13-15. An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and 
sport fishing. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season 
and WMA permits may need to be purchased. Fees are charged when 
applying for quota hunt permits and “leftover” permits. 

Permanent Sr. Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 166) $50

Available at all license agents and can only be purchased when 65th 
birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of resi-
dency is required. Applications with proof of age and residency may be 
submitted by mail. An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and 
sport fishing. No supplemental licenses are required, but special season 
and WMA permits may need to be purchased. Fees are charged when 
applying for quota hunt permits and “leftover” permits. 

LICENSE FEES
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Wildlife Management Area Permit
  Everyone who hunts on wildlife management areas that require permits must 
  have a WMA permit except: holders of the Annual , Lifetime, or Senior Citizen   	
  Sportsman License, or juveniles under age 16 hunting small game or waterfowl.    	
  A complete list of WMAs, including those that require permits, can be found    
  in the current Tennessee Hunting and Trapping Guide. Refer to this  	
  Waterfowl Hunting Guide for regulations regarding waterfowl hunting on 	
  specific WMAs. Permit cost is the same for residents and  nonresidents.

  NOTE: Juvenile hunters must be accompanied by an adult with a valid WMA 
  permit, if required by that WMA. 

1-Day WMA Small Game and Waterfowl (Type 092) $12.50

Annual WMA Small Game and Waterfowl (Type 091) $62.00

Reelfoot Preservation Permit
  Required for all users of Reelfoot WMA except those under 16 years of age, 
  residents 65 years or older and holders of an Annual or Lifetime Sportsman 
  License. Permit cost is the same for residents and nonresidents. 

1-Day Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 090) $3.50

3-Day Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 088) $10.50

Annual Reelfoot Preservation Permit (Type 089) $17.00

Guide License
  This license is required for anyone who accepts compensation for providing    	
  assistance to another in any act of hunting, fishing, and/or trapping.  

Resident Guide License (Type 450) $151.00

Nonresident Guide License (Type 455) $651.00

Light Goose Conservation Season Permit
  Required for all persons hunting during the Light Goose Conservation   	
  Season except those under 16 years of age. There is no fee for this permit. 	
  These are self-issue permits and will be available beginning in late 	
  January on the TWRA website. Permit holders will be required to report 	
  their activities and harvest after the season. This new permit will allow for 	
  additional methods of take, see Light Goose Conservation Season on page 14.

Hunting Hours 
Ducks, Geese, Gallinules, Rails, Coots: One-half hour before 
sunrise to sunset (except where otherwise noted). 

Sandhill cranes: sunrise to 3 p.m. EST.

Special Regulations

Plugged Shotguns 
No person shall hunt migratory game birds, except crows, 
with a shotgun of any description capable of holding more 
than three (3) shells, unless it is plugged with a one-piece 
filler, incapable of removal without disassembling the gun, 
so its total capacity does not exceed three (3) shells.

Legal Shot 
All federally approved non-toxic shot (bismuth-tin, steel, 
tungsten-bronze, tungsten-iron, tungsten-matrix, tungsten-
nickel-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-tin-bismuth or 
tungsten-tin-iron-nickel) are legal for waterfowl hunting. A 
complete list is available at www.FWS.gov/migratorybirds/
currentbirdissues/non-toxic.html

Possession or use of any loose shot other than non-toxic shot 
or any shotgun shells other than non-toxic while hunting 
waterfowl, sandhill cranes, coots, gallinules, Virginia rails and 
sora rails is prohibited.


