
BEFORE THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF 
COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

IN THE MATTER OF: ) Tennessee Division Insurance Fraud 
) 

JOHN WINSTON FISHER, ) DOCKET NO. 12.01-131907J 
) 
) Judge Sitting A lone 

Respondent. ) 

INITIAL ORDER 

This matter came on to be heard on October 22, 2015 before the undersigned 

Judge. Ms. Stephanie M. Crenshaw, Assistant General Counsel, Department of 

Commerce and Insurance, was present and ready to proceed with the hearing on 

behalf of the State. The Respondent was not present at the hearing, nor was anyone 

present on Respondent's behalf. 1 

The State presented a "Notice of Filing Return on Service" which reflected that 

the Respondent was mailed a Notice of Hearing and Charges via U.S. First Class Mail 

on July 2, 2015 and such Notice of Hearing and Charges was signed as "delivered" and 

returned to the Department of Commerce and Insurance as "delivered" on July 8, 

2015. 

The "proof of service" of the Notice of Hearing and Charges was moved into 

evidence as "Exhibit 1" at the hearing. Additionally, a letter written by Respondent on 

July 7, 2015 noted that he had received the Department's Notice of Hearing and 

Charges. Respondent's letter was entered in to evidence as <<Exhibit 2" at the hearing. 

It was determined that Respondent had received actual notice of the hearing. 

Accordingly, the State moved for a Default and requested permission to present its 

1 It is noted that Respondent received the Pre-Hearing Order, and did not file any type of request asking 
to appear at the trial/hearing via teleconference or deposition. Nor did Respondent ask for a 
continuance or otherwise attempt to participate in this case as instructed in the Pre-Hearing Order. 



proof in the absence of Respondent. There being evidence of adequate Notice to the 

Respondent of the Trial/Contested Case Hearing, the Department's Motion to proceed 

in Default was considered well-taken and was GRANTED. 

The subject of this hearing was whether the undersigned, s itting on behalf of the 

Tennessee Commissioner of Commerce and Insurance, should take disciplinary action 

against the Respondent for alleged violations of TENN. CODE ANN. §56-6-910, and/or 

any rule or regulation promulgated by the Board. 

Respondent failed to appear and contest the charges against him. Respondent's 

Tennessee Public Adjuster's license is REVOKED, Respondent is ASSESSED 

$2000.00 in civil penalties ($1000.00 per felony conviction), and Respondent is 

assessed the costs of the State's investigating, prosecuting this action, and 

conducting the contested case hearing, pursuant to T.C.A. §56-1-31 1, T.C.A. §56-6-

90 1, et seq., and applicable RULES & REGS. for the Tennessee Department of Commerce 

and Insurance. This determination is based upon the following Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law. 

AUTHORITY 

Authority and jurisdiction are conferred upon the undersigned sitting for the 

Tennessee to take appropriate disciplinary action, including the revocation or 

suspension of a certificate of registration or the refusal to issue or renew a certificate 

of registration and/ or the imposition of civil penalties against any person required to 

be registered by the State pursuant to the TENNESSEE 

PUBLIC ADJUSTER LICENSING ACT OF 2006, TENN. CODE ANN. §56-6-901, et seq., for the 

violation of any provision of that chapter or any rule or regulation duly promulgated 



thereunder. See TENN. CODE ANN. §56-6-910, TENN. COMP. R. & REGS. R. 0780-1-91-.01, 

et seq. 

NOTICE OF DEFAULT 

As noted above, the State, by and through counsel, moved that a default be 

entered again st Respondent for failure to appear and participate in the hearing after 

due notice. It appearing that proper notice was sent to Respondents, and that 

Respondent failed to appear at the hearing, the State's Motion for Default is well taken 

and is hereby GRANTED pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. § 4-5-309(a). See also RULE 

1360-4-1-.15(1) of the UNIFORM RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR HEARING CONTESTED CASES 

BEFORE STATE ADMIN1STRATIVE AGENCIES, TENN. Comp. R. & REGS. CH. 1360-4-1 (June 2004 

(Revised)). 



SUMMARY OF WITNESSES AND EXHIBITS 

The State called the following witnesses: (1) Renee Powell via Affidavit; and (2) 

Mr. Thomas Smith, Manager Division of Insurance, Fraud. The State entered the 

following exhibits into evidence at the hearing of this matter: 

(Ex.1) Notice of Filing Return on Service, (Ex. 2) Letter from Respondent; (Ex.3) 

Affidavit of Renee Powell; (Ex. 4) Federal Criminal Indictment of Respondent; (Ex. 5) 

Criminal Plea Agreement, United States District Court of the Middle District of 

Tennessee; and (Ex. 6) Criminal Judgment entered against Respondent in the United 

States District Court of the Middle District of Tennessee. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Respondent was issued a "Public Adjuster License" in Tennessee on June 

4, 2014. His Public Adjuster license number is #2243404.2 

2. "Public Adjusters" are persons licensed by the State of Tennessee whom 

insureds (individuals or business entities with insurance coverage) can hire to 

represent such insureds in documenting and negotiating insurance claims with 

insurance companies. See T.C.A. §56-6-903(8)(A). 

3. The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Insurance Fraud 

Division, received a complaint that Respondent had conspired to commit arson (burn 

down a residential building) in Tennessee, and had further conspired to present an 

insured's claim for fire insurance to the State Farm Insurance Company. 

4. Thereafter, the In surance Fraud Division investigator, Thomas Smith, in 

the course and scope of the Division's investigation of Respondent, obtained a United 

States District Court Criminal Indictment against Respondent for a conspiracy to burn 

down a residential property located at 2004 Lynn Haven Court, Mt. Juliet, Tennessee, 

2 Respondent's Public Adjuster's license expired on June 3, 2015. 



and present a false claim for fire insurance coverage to the State Farm Insurance 

Company on behalf of the owner of the property ("the insured"). 

5. Respondent entered a "Plea Agreement" in the United States District 

Court, Middle District of Tennessee, on June 21, 2014, in which Respondent entered 

voluntary pleas of guilty to two separate counts of mail fraud. 

6. A criminal judgment was entered on January 30, 2015 in the U.S. District 

Court of Tennessee, Middle District, which found Respondent guilty of two separate 

felonious counts of mail fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1341, which occurred on 

April 27, 2010 and May 19, 2010. Respondent was sentenced to incarceration in a 

federal correctional institution for a total of five (5) years, and was ordered to pay 

restitution to State Farm and Casualty Company in the amount of $582,836.23. 

7. Respondent violated T.C.A. §56-6-910's provisions governing Public 

Adjusters. Specifically, Respondent's actions violated T.C.A. §56-6-910(6). 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. Respondent's acts and conduct, as set forth in the foregoing "Findings of 

Fact," constitute a violation ofTENN. CODE ANN. §56-6-910 which provides: 

(a) The commissioner may place on probation, cancel, terminate, 
suspend, revoke or refuse to issue or renew a public adjuster's license, or 
may levy a civil penalty, in accordance with this section, or any 
combination of actions, for any one ( 1) or more of the following causes: 

*** 
(6) Having been convicted of a felony or other offense 
involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit or misrepresentation, in a 
final decision of a court of competent jurisdiction[.] 

2. As set forth in the Findings of Fact, above, Respondent committed acts of 

dishonesty, fraud, deceit and misrepresentation which resulted in felony convictions in 

the United States District Court of Tennessee, Middle District. 



3. Accordingly, due to Respondent's using his position as a "Public Adjuster" 

in the commission of felonies involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit and 

misrepresentation, and his subsequent convictions for the same, the appropriate 

discipline in this matter is the REVOCATION of Respondent's Public Adjuster's license 

##2243404.3 

4. Due to the egregious nature of Respondent's violations of the TENNESSEE 

PUBLIC ADJUSTER'S LICENSURE ACT, as set forth above, said violations constitute grounds 

for the imposition of other lawful discipline, including the imposition of civil penalties 

pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. §56-6-910(e). Accordingly, a civil penalty of thousand 

dollars ($1,000.00) is imposed for each felony conviction, for a total in $2000.00 in 

civil penalties assessed against Respondent. 

It is hereby ORDERED that Respondent Fisher's Public Adjuster's license IS 

REVOKED. 

It is further ORDERED that Respondent shall pay civil penalties totaling Two 

Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00.) 

It is so ordered. 

This order entered and effective this£ day of October, 20 15. 

Joyce Gri s Safley 
Administrative Judge 

3 With regard to Respondent's license expiration on June 3, 2015, Tennessee Jaw supports that a license 
may be revoked by a licensing authority despite the license's past or imminent expiration. Tennessee 
Real Estate Commission u. Godwin, 378 S.W. 439, 445 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1963). It is noted that after a 
license has "expired", renewal of the license is largely administrative. Generally, an "expired" license is 
reinstated by paying licensure fees, and any interest or penalties associated with allowing the license to 
"expire". Revocation of an "expired license", as a disciplinary action by a commissioner, licensing 
authority, govern ing board or commission, serves also to revoke the automatic "right to renewal" (by 
simply paying a fee and having the "expired license" administratively renewed automatically without 
review by the licensing authority). 



Filed in the Administrative Procedures Division, Office of the Secretary of State, this 

a~iY' day of ()C,W'OV\ 2015. 

J. Richard Collier, Director 
Administrative Procedures Division 



APPENDIX A TO INITIAL ORDE R 
NOTICE OF APPEAL PROCEDURES 

Review of Initial Order 

This Initial Order shall become a Final Order (reviewable as set forth below) fifteen (15) 
days after the entry date of this Initial Order, unless either or both of the following actions are 
taken: 

(1) A party files a petition for appeal to the agency, stating the basis of the appeal, or the 
agency on its own motion gives written notice of its intention to review the Initial Order, within 
fifteen ( 15) days after the entry date of the Initial Order. If either of these actions occurs, there is 
no Final Order until review by the agency and entry of a new Final Order or adoption and entry 
of the Initial Order, in whole or in part, as the Final Order. A petition for appeal to the agency 
must be fi led within the proper time period with the Administrative Procedures Division of the 
Office of the Secretary of State, gth Floor, William R. Snodgrass Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks 
Avenue, Nashvi lle, Tennessee, 37243-1102. (Telephone No. (6 15) 741-7008). See Tennessee 
Code Annotated, Section (T.C.A. §) 4-5-3 I 5, on review of initial orders by the agency. 

(2) A party files a petition fo r reconsideration of this Initial Order, stating the specific 
reasons why the Initial Order was in error within fifteen (15) days after the entry date of the 
Initial Order. This petition must be filed with the Administrative Procedures Division at the 
above address. A petition for reconsideration is deemed denied if no action is taken within 
twenty (20) days of filing. A new fifteen (15) day period for the fi ling of an appeal to the agency 
(as set forth in paragraph (1) above) starts to run from the entry date of an order disposing of a 
petition for reconsideration, or from the twentieth day after fi ling of the petition, if no order is 
issued. See T.C.A. §4-5-317 on petitions for reconsideration. 

A party may petition the agency for a stay of the Initial Order within seven (7) days after 
the entry date of the order. See T.C.A. §4-5-3 16. 

Review of Final Order 

Within fi fteen (15) days after the Initial Order becomes a Final Order, a party may file a 
petition for reconsideration of the Final Order, in which petitioner shall state the specific reasons 
why the Initial Order was in error. If no action is taken within twenty (20) days of filing of the 
petition, it is deemed denied. See T.C.A. §4-5-317 on petitions for reconsideration. 

A party may petition the agency for a stay of the Final Order within seven (7) days after 
the entry date of the order. See T.C.A. §4-5-316. 
YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE FURTHER NOTICE OF THE INITIAL ORDER BECOMING A 
FINAL ORDER 

A person who is aggrieved by a final decision in a contested case may seek judicial 
review of the Final Order by filing a petition for review in a Chancery Court having jurisdiction 
(generally, Davidson County Chancery Court) within sixty (60) days after the entry date of a 
Final Order or, if a petition for reconsideration is granted, within sixty (60) days of the entry date 
of the Final Order disposing of the petition. (However, the filing of a petition for reconsideration 
does not itself act to extend the sixty day period, if the petition is not granted.) A reviewing 
court also may order a stay of the Final Order upon appropriate terms. See T.C.A. §4-5-322 and 
§4-5-3 I 7. 


