

To: All Tennessee Self-Insured Employers – Workers' Compensation Self-Insured Program

Re: Third Party Administrator ("TPA") Requirements

A self-insured employer may not contract for services with a TPA unless the TPA holds a certificate of authority issued by the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance ("TDCI"). Any self-insured employer utilizing a licensed TPA for administrator services is required to file copies of each TPA contract with TDCI as listed below:

- 1. Any amendment to the TPA contract must be filed for a renewal of a current TPA contract and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing TPA contract;
- 2. If a complete TPA contract is not available on or before the expiration date of the existing contract, please submit a draft TPA contract;
- 3. An Employer that changes its TPA shall notify the Commissioner at least thirty (30) days prior to any such change and shall file a copy of the new TPA contract at that time;
- 4. A complete set of TPA contracts must be filed with TDCI within thirty (30) days from the expiration date.

Pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.04(2)(c), Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.08(4), and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13, failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-insurer's certificate of authority.

Should you have any questions, please contact <u>TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Kurt A. Polasko, CFE, ACI, APIR Insurance Financial Manager



REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURED WORKERS' COMPENSATION SINGLE EMPLOYER

(Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405 and Tenn. Comp. R & Reg. 0781-01-83)

Update Third Party Administrator ("TPA")

A self-insured employer may not contract for services with a TPA unless the TPA holds a certificate of authority issued by the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance ("TDCI"). Any self-insured employer utilizing a licensed TPA for administrator services is required to file copies of each TPA contract with TDCI as listed below:

- 1. Any amendment to the TPA contract must be filed for a renewal of a current TPA contract and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing TPA contract;
- 2. If a complete TPA contract is not available on or before the expiration date of the existing contract, please submit a draft TPA contract;
- 3. An Employer that changes its TPA shall notify the Commissioner at least thirty (30) days prior to any such change and shall file a copy of the new TPA contract at that time;
- 4. A complete set of TPA contracts must be filed with TDCI within thirty (30) days from the expiration date.

Pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.04(2)(c), Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.08(4), and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13, failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-insurer's certificate of authority.

Should you have any questions, please contact <u>TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov</u>.

 \diamond