

To: All Tennessee Self-Insured Employers – Workers' Compensation Self-Insured Program

Re: Excess Policy Requirements

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance ("TDCI") requires all self-insured employers to submit the documents listed below related to the required maintenance of excess insurance pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.06:

- 1. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted for a renewal of a current excess policy and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 2. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when an excess policy is issued by a new insurance carrier and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 3. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when the Self-Insured Retention ("SIR") level with the current insurance carrier is changed;
- 4. An SIR certification signed by a qualified actuary must be submitted and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 5. The complete set of excess policy information must be filed with TDCI within 90 days from the expiration date;
- 6. A non-renewal of a policy is required to be reported at least 60 days before the end of the policy.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405(b)(4) and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13(2), failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-insurer's certificate of authority.

Should you have any questions, please contact <u>TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Kurt A. Polasko, CFE, ACI, APIR Insurance Financial Manager

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Insurance Division, Financial Affairs Section 500 James Robertson Pkwy • 10th Floor, Davy Crockett Tower • Nashville, TN, 37243 • Tel: 615-741-1670 1013-8050-8-Excess Policy Letter

IN-0120B (Rev. 10/2021) RDA 746



REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURED WORKERS' COMPENSATION SINGLE EMPLOYER

(Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405 and Tenn. Comp. R & Reg. 0780-01-83)

<u>Updates of Excess Policy Information</u>

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance ("TDCI") requires all self-insured employers to submit the documents listed below related to the required maintenance of excess insurance pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.06:

- 1. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted for a renewal of a current excess policy and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 2. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when an excess policy is issued by a new insurance carrier and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 3. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when the Self-Insured Retention ("SIR") level with the current insurance carrier is changed;
- 4. An SIR certification signed by a qualified actuary must be submitted and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy;
- 5. The complete set of excess policy must be filed with TDCI within 90 days from the expiration date;
- 6. A non-renewal of a policy is required to be reported at least 60 days before the end of the policy.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405(b)(4) and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13(2), failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a selfinsurer's certificate of authority.

Should you have any questions, please contact TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov.



Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Insurance Division, Financial Affairs Section 500 James Robertson Pkwy • 10th Floor, Davy Crockett Tower • Nashville, TN, 37243 • Tel: 615-741-1670 1013-8050-8-1-Update Excess Policy-Instruction