TENNESSEE MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION MINUTES

DATE: March 2, 2015

PLACE: Davy Crockett Tower – Conference Room 6A-B

500 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, Tennessee

PRESENT: Commission Members:

Stan McNabb Lynn Webb

Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan

Reed Trickett
Eddie Roberts
Jim Galvin
Stan Norton
Ronnie Fox
Donnie Hatcher
Joe Clayton

ABSENT:

Nate Jackson Billy Keck John Murrey Don Parr

CALL TO ORDER: Chairman Eddie Roberts called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Ms. Whaley called the roll. Ten (10) members were present.

STATEMENT OF NECESSITY: Ms. Cropp read the following statement:

According to T.C.A. § 8-44-108(b)(2), "If a physical quorum is not present at the location of a meeting of a governing body, then in order for a quorum of members to participate by electronic or other means of communication, the governing body must make a determination that a necessity exists. Such determination, and a recitation of the facts and circumstances on which it was based, must be included in the minutes of the meeting."

Furthermore, T.C.A. § 8-44-108(a)(3) defines a "necessity" as, "...matters to be considered by the governing body at the meeting require timely action by the body, that physical presence by a quorum of the members is not practical within the period of time

requiring action, and that participation by a quorum of the members by electronic or other means of communication is necessary."

The purpose of today's Motor Vehicle Commission meeting via teleconference is to discuss the Executive Director Search Committee Report regarding executive director interviews and discuss taking action regarding the appointment of an executive director. It is in the best interest of the Commission and all parties to appoint an executive director as soon as possible so that the individual appointed can carry out necessary functions to keep the Commission running smoothly.

While the Commission needs to address this issue, the physical presence of a quorum of the members is not possible at this time. Therefore, the Commission has determined that it is necessary to allow participation by teleconference.

<u>Statement of Necessity</u> – Due to the impossibility of having a quorum of members physically present and the need to address the appointment of an executive director for the Motor Vehicle Commission in a timely manner, the Commission believes a necessity exists that requires this meeting be held by teleconference.

Commissioner Vaughan made a motion to adopt the statement of necessity, seconded by Commissioner Norton.

Roll Call Vote:

For:

Stan McNabb
Lynn Webb
Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan
Reed Trickett
Eddie Roberts
Jim Galvin
Stan Norton
Ronnie Fox
Donnie Hatcher
Joe Clayton

Against:

None

The Executive Director Search Committee presented their recommendation. The committee recommended that candidate Paula Shaw be selected by the full Commission to serve as the director of the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission. After some discussion Commissioner Hatcher made the motion to accept the committee's recommendation of Paula Shaw as the new director of the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission, seconded by Commissioner Clayton.

Roll Call Vote:

For:

Stan McNabb Lynn Webb

Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan

Reed Trickett
Eddie Roberts
Jim Galvin
Stan Norton
Ronnie Fox

Donnie Hatcher

Joe Clayton

Against:

None

The compensation for the new director was then considered. After some discussion Commissioner Webb made a motion to authorize compensation of up to \$68,500. Seconded by Commissioner Trickett.

Roll Call Vote:

For:

Stan McNabb Lynn Webb Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan

Reed Trickett Eddie Roberts Jim Galvin

Stan Norton Ronnie Fox

Donnie Hatcher

Joe Clayton

Against:

None

The start date for the new director was then discussed. After some discussion Commissioner McNabb made a motion that the new director would start by March 16, 2015, seconded by Commissioner Vaughan.

Roll Call Vote:

For:
Stan McNabb
Lynn Webb
Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan
Reed Trickett
Eddie Roberts
Jim Galvin
Stan Norton
Ronnie Fox
Donnie Hatcher
Joe Clayton
Against:
None
Being that there was no other business Mr. Clayton made a motion to adjourn the meeting,
seconded by Mr. Galvin.
Roll Call Vote:
Ron Can vote:
For:
Stan McNabb
Lynn Webb
Farrar Schaeffer Vaughan
Reed Trickett
Eddie Roberts
Jim Galvin
Stan Norton
Ronnie Fox
Donnie Hatcher
Joe Clayton
Against
Against: None
None
Meeting Adjourned
Eddie Roberts, Chairman