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The Real Estate Appraiser Commission welcomes its newest members, Eric 
Collinsworth who is the AMC representative on the Real Estate Appraiser 
Commission and Gary R. Standifer, an appraiser member representing middle 
Tennessee.  Nancy Point has been reappointed; she is an appraiser member 
representing east Tennessee.  The Commission staff wishes to express our 
sincere appreciation to our Commission members whose terms on the Commission
have ended.  Herbert Phillips and Jason Covington for the many years of 
dedicated service and outstanding leadership in giving voice and vision for the 
past, present and future. You have made an invaluable contribution to the Real 
Estate Appraisal profession.  Michael Green, the appraiser member representing 
East Tennessee, was elected chair at the July meeting.  Mark Johnstone, 
appraiser member representing west Tennessee was appointed vice-chair. 

Governor Haslam Appoints New Commission Members  

 
Email Notification Are Now Available! 
You can now get notifications from the Real Estate Appraiser Commission related to 
the following:  

New or Amended Statutes - New or Updated Rules 

Changes to Fees - Rulemaking Hearings related to Fees 

Significant Changes Impacting Your License - Changes to Policies 

This will be especially critical as we proceed through all the changes coming for 
appraisers in the next couple of years, so please sign up and stay informed. 

The Newsletters will also be announced through this new email notification system 
rather than being emailed through the listserv.  You have to sign up to get the 
announcements. 

To sign up please website at: http://1.tn.gov/candi-notify   
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Mark Johnstone has been a

Certified General Appraiser for

17 years is a MAI designed

appraiser.  He was recently

appointed vice-chair of the Real

Estate Appraiser Commission

and has served in the past as

the chair of the Commission. 

 
 

 

 Some insight on our 
biggest challenge 
immediately facing the 
State of Tennessee is 
implementation of the new 
Appraiser Qualification 
Criteria changes.    

These changes represent 
minimum national 
requirements that each 
state must implement no 
later than January 1, 
2015. Please note that 
one of the adopted 
changes eliminates the 
“segmented” approach to 
implementation, which 
means that as of January 
1, 2015, all applicants 
must satisfy all portions of 
the new Criteria in order to
obtain a real property 
appraiser credential.  

A summary of the 
changes can be found on 
The Appraisal 
Foundation’s (TAF) 
website at:   
http://www.appraisalfound
ation.org/s_appraisal/inde
x.asp  

Here are some of the 
changes that will affect 
new applicants, current 
trainees, and anyone 
intending to upgrade an 
appraiser credential:  

• Bachelor’s degrees will 
be required for certified 
residential or certified 
general applicants. State 
licensed appraiser 
applicants will have 
college level education 
requirements, but may not 
be required to hold a 
degree.  

Time is of the Essence by Commission member 
Mark Johnstone 

• Fingerprinting and 
background checks will be 
required for all new 
applicants.  

• No “grandfathering” of 
education, experience, or 
examination. You must 
hold the credential prior to 
2015 or you will be 
entirely on the new 
requirements.  

• All qualifying education 
will have to be obtained 
within 5 years of 
application for registered 
trainee applicants. (This 
applies only to those 
applying to become 
trainees, not those 
applying to upgrade to 
license or certification). 

• Both Trainees and 
Supervisors will have 
course requirements; 
supervisors may not have 
been disciplined within the 
prior 3 years in a manner 
that affected their ability to 
engage in appraisal 
practice.  

• Education and 
Experience must be 
completed prior to taking 
the AQB approved 
National Uniform 
Licensing and Certification 
Examination. 

___________________ 

Under the provisions of 
Title XI of the Financial 
Institutions Reform, 
Recovery and 
Enforcement Act of 1989 
(FIRREA), the Appraisal 
Qualifications Board 
(AQB) establishes the 

minimum education, 
experience and 
examination requirements 
for real property 
appraisers to obtain a 
state license or 
certification. Each State, 
in its laws and regulations, 
further defines 
requirements for the 
various categories and 
permitted practices. The 
requirements must at least 
meet, requirements set 
forth in the AQB Criteria 
for appraisers to be “AQB 
compliant” and be 
included on the National 
Registry (www.asc.gov) 
which is a requirement for 
appraisers that work on 
federally related 
transactions. 
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 I am a native of the Memphis 
Area and began appraising 
residential real estate in 1993 as 
a trainee with Statewide Appraisal 
Service in Bartlett, TN.  Before 
completing my certification 
requirements I moved to Bramble 
& Taylor Appraisal Company in 
Covington, TN.  Having trained in 
both urban and rural settings I 
gained valuable experience in the 
nuances and complexities of both 
and became proficient in both 
manual/courthouse and digital 
research. Completing my training 
I as a Certified Residential 
Appraiser in 1997, I started my 
own firm, Allright Real Estate 
Services, LLC, in 1998.  The 
focus of my practice is single 
family residential real estate 
appraisal, but I have an 
understanding of income 
capitalization and experience in 
residential income appraisal and 
expert testimony.  From 2006 -
2008 I contracted for Horizon 
Consulting in Lansdowne, VA as 
a consultant/review appraiser; 
reviewing HUD REO appraisals 
and suggesting improved 

Finding Balance by Commission Member Timothy Walton 

approaches to HUD’s REO valuation 
methods.  In 2009-2010 I contracted 
with HUD to review residential 
appraisals and attended contractor 
training at the Atlanta HOC.  Recently 
I was appointed to the Tennessee 
Real Estate Appraiser Commission 
by Gov. Haslam and in 2012 ran for 
Property Assessor of Shelby County 
nearly beating the incumbent.  

I’ve also been extremely fortunate to 
have a second career as a fire 
fighter.  I began as a recruit at 
Arlington Fire Dept in 1986 where I 
learned the basics and earned my 
EMT certification.  I then applied for a 
job with the larger Shelby County Fire 
Dept and was hired in 1987; after 
completing my fire fighter 
certifications I entered the paramedic 
program and was certified in 1989.  
Fresh out of paramedic school I was 
assigned to Engine 63/Med-Squad 3 
in southeast Shelby County which at 
that time was among the 50 busiest 
engine companies in the nation. Over 
the last 20 plus years I’ve worked my 
way up through the ranks and 
currently serve as Lieutenant on 
SCFD Engine 60. 

 In the mid-1990’s I earned spots 
on our light weight tug-o-war & 
muster teams and competed in 
the World Police & Fire Games.  
I’m very proud to have won a 
bronze medal in Melbourne, 
Australia in 1995 and 2 more 
bronze in Calgary, Canada in 
1997.  These events included over 
8,500 athletes and were second in 
size to only the summer Olympics.

Needless to say it can be a 
challenge to keep up with two 
demanding careers that are so 
different.  However, it’s actually 
the contrast that makes them work 
so well for me.  Ten days a month 
I’m blue collar, burned and bloody 
doing my best to help when things 
are at their worst.  The truth is that 
no one can withstand that type of 
physical, mental and emotional 
strain without a change of pace.   

That is where I am extremely 
blessed to have had the 
opportunity to become an 
appraiser.  The cerebral 

Continued Page 4 
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Appraiser FYI: HUD ML 09-29 
 
When  a case number is transferred with a completed 
appraisal, may a new appraisal be requested? When a 
borrower has switched lenders, the 1st lender must 
transfer the case to the 2nd lender upon borrower 
request. FHA does not require that the client 
name on the appraisal be changed when it is transferred 
to another lender. 
• In accordance with USPAP, the lender is not permitted 
to request that the appraiser change the name of the 
client within the appraisal report unless it is a new 
appraisal assignment. The appraiser cannot 'readdress' 
(transfer) the original appraisal report to another party 
and must perform a new appraisal assignment in 
compliance with Advisory Opinion #26 and FAQ # 74 in 
the 2008-2009 edition of USPAP. 
For cases assigned on or after January 1, 2010: 
• A 2nd appraisal may be ordered by the 2nd lender 
when: 
 
1. The 1st appraisal contains material deficiencies 
determined by the DE underwriter for the 2nd lender. 
 
2. The appraiser performing the 1st appraisal is on the 
2nd lender’s exclusionary list. 
 
3. Failure of the 1st lender to provide a copy of the 
appraisal to the 2nd lender in a timely manner would 
cause a delay in closing, posing potential harm to the 
borrower.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Potential harm includes events outside of the control of 
the borrower such as loss of interest rate lock, purchase 
contract deadline, foreclosure proceedings, and late 
fees. 
 
For cases in 1 and 2 above, copies of both appraisals 
must be retained in the case binder. For cases in 3 
above, the 1st appraisal must be added to the case 
binder when it is received. In all cases, the lender must 
document why a 2nd appraisal was ordered and retain 
the explanation in the case binder. 
 
FHA prohibits appraiser shopping where lenders order 
additional appraisals in an effort to assure the highest 
possible value for the property and/or the least amount 
of deficiencies and/or repairs are noted and required by 
the appraiser. 

                                

challenges involved in appraising are the 
perfect antidote to a rough shift.  Focusing 
my thoughts on the research and analysis 
breaks the cycle of stress.  The fact that 
every assignment is unique provides 
endless variety and makes it a great fit for 
me.  Appraising and firefighting are my yin 
and yang. 
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I have seen and heard a 
lot of complaints in the last 
several years.  Some are 
very legitimate, some not 
so much. As a 
professional you may not 
be able to completely 
avoid complaints, but 
many professional 
complaints can be 
avoided.  Anyone can file 
a complaint and the 
Commission considers 
complaints submitted in 
writing to the Commission 
office to determine if they 
are within the authority of 
the law (T.C.A 62-39). An 
appraiser can minimize 
the stress and uncertainty 
of receiving a complaint 
by being mindful of their 
requirements. 

 

In Tennessee, by law real 
estate appraisers are 
required to comply with 
Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal 
Practice (USPAP) and 
that requires analysis of 
relevant property 
characteristics and 
specific reporting 
requirements such as 
external influences, 
property characteristics, 
sale and listing history, 
etc. 

 

The motivations of buyers, 
sellers, real estate agents, 
appraisal management 
company (AMC) 
personnel, and lenders 
whenever a real estate 
transaction is pending and 
even many years after a 

Tips for Preventing Complaints and Disciplinary Action 
By Nikole Avers, Executive Director 

sale has closed are often 
very high and sometimes 
can become emotional.  
The appraiser is required 
to remain independent, 
impartial, and objective. 

Many appraisers will have 
a complaint filed against 
them at some point 
against them in their 
career. Once a complaint 
is received, any appraisal 
that is part of the 
complaint will be reviewed 
for USPAP compliance. 

TIPS: 

• If you are 
unfamiliar with a particular 
market area, or type of 
property, or if the property 
excessed your license 
limits as outlined in the 
law (T.C.A 62-39-302); 
consult a qualified 
professional or transfer 
the client to another 
qualified appraisal 
professional.  Know your 
limits.  

• If you notice a 
mistake, address it 
immediately with the 
client.  If you are honest 
and address the matter 
timely, many times errors 
can be resolved quickly.  If 
you make a change to the 
report, make sure it is 
clear what changes have 
been made to the report.  
If the day you transmit this 
change is different than 
the initial day you 
communicated the report 
(i.e. not a same day fix), 
make sure you change the 
report date or date signed 
(not the effective date). 

Document all reports 
communicated to your 
client to the workfile, even 
the one with the mistake.  
If you sent it out into the 
world, document it.  Don’t 
assume the receiver of the 
report had the good 
conscience to delete your 
prior version.  You don’t 
know what may later 
come up.  You can save 
an electronic version of 
the report; it doesn’t have 
to be paper (i.e. 123 
MainStreet1, 123 
MainStreet2).   

• Be a good 
communicator with your 
client.  If the client cannot 
reach you, or calls are not 
returned timely, it may 
ultimately lead to a 
complaint.  Be sure you 
are communicating with 
the client about any 
delays that may crop up.  
Timeliness isn’t generally 
grounds for discipline, but 
good communication with 
your client and within your 
appraisal report can save 
a lot of communication 
time later in a complaint 
process. 

• Report more on 
the property 
characteristics.  This is 
important to the clients 
and the home owners.  
You might be surprised at 
the number of complaints 
initiated over omissions of 
characteristics of the 
property.  Lenders need to 
know things like deferred 
maintenance, external 
influences, functional 
obsolesces, and overall 
(continued Page 6)

 
 

 
 
Nikole Avers is the Executive 
Director of the Tennessee 
Real Estate Appraiser 
Commission. She is a 
Certified Residential Real 
Estate Appraiser with 
experience in real estate 
appraisal, appraisal review 
and teaching appraisal 
courses. She is an AQB 
certified USPAP instructor 
and she contributed as a 
subject matter expert for the 
AQB on the 2008 and 2009 
National Real Property 
Appraiser Examinations.  
Nikole is currently the Vice-
President of the AARO and 
chair of the Policy and 
Planning committee. 
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(Continued from Page 6)  
 
and overall quality and condition of the improvements to make an informed lending decision.  The client is supposed to 
get a copy of your report, but once the report is communicated to the lender they can send it to the home owner.  The 
appraiser is bound by confidentiality; the lender has to give the borrower a copy of the appraisal. You might also avoid 
receiving a complaint from a home owner if you report property characteristics better.  A lot of complaints are filed by 
home owners because the appraiser either misreported property characteristics or omitted them entirely, such as 
upgrades to the kitchen or bathrooms, energy efficiency items, and basement finish.   
• Support your opinions in your appraisal and in your workfile.  The site value, for example, is an opinion of value.  
If you include an opinion of site value in your appraisal report, but you fail to support the conclusion or fail to include 
support in your workfile for how you developed the opinion of value, then you have included an unsupported opinion of 
value in your appraisal.  Be certain you use recognized methods and techniques for developing your opinions of value.  It 
makes me sad to think how many times I have heard “I used the assessor’s value” as the site value.  That is not an 
acceptable method for developing a conclusion of value in your appraisal unless you are the assessor.  

 Methods for Estimating Site Value 
 Sales Comparison 
 Allocation 
 Extraction  
 Land Residual  
 Ground Rent Capitalization 
 Subdivision Development  

 
Summarize rationale for selecting comparable sales and reasoning and support for adjustments to the comparable sales.  
It seems so basic, but that is what the client hired you for to explain the market.  So start summarizing it for them.  If you 
don’t know why you selected a comparable or made an adjustment, you’re heading in the wrong direction. 
 
IF A COMPLAINT IS FILED AGAINST YOU: 
 
The Commission will send you a letter and give you an opportunity to respond to the complaint.   
We will also ask for a copy of the appraisal and workfile.  You are required to provide the appraisal and workfile (T.C.A 
62-39-332); the rest of the response is up to you.  You can respond professionally or unprofessionally; but, honestly, who 
do you think you are helping by choosing now to go off on a soap box rant about being offended that anyone would ever 
even think to question your appraisal?  I would encourage you to be professional and concise.  If you made a mistake, 
now is the time to own it.  If not, just write your report complies with professional standards.  If the complaint was filed by 
a consumer, they may not be as knowledgeable about appraisal requirements as you are and may even have accused 
you of things you may find offensive personally.  Don’t take it personal.  Try to remember that when buying or selling a 
house, everything is very personal to the consumers and emotions run high.  Remember the last time you bought or sold 
a house?  Did it go smoothly?  If it did, you were lucky or it was so long ago you don’t remember how many times you got 
angry before closing.  The lender complaints tend to be more professional when they are filed, but they are filed by 
people too, so just remember not to take it personal.  Responding to questions is part of the business of appraisal 
practice. 
 
Another reason to keep it professional, all your responses become public record once they hit my office.  Yes, anyone 
can get a copy of your very personal moment so keep it professional. 
 
Upon receipt of your response, the documentation submitted by both you and the Complainant will be reviewed.  If there 
is an appraisal report review will be conducted to determine if the report was issued in compliance with USPAP, TREAC 
laws and administrative Rules and Regulations. 
 
The complaint along with your response will be presented to the Commission anonymously at which time the 
Commission will determine if there is any cause for disciplinary action or if the matter should be closed or dismissed.  Not 
all matters result in discipline, sometimes the Commission may determine letters of warning, caution, or instruction are 
warranted – which are not considered disciplinary action, but are kept as part of the official license record and may be a 
mitigating reason for discipline for future occurrences of the same violation.  If there is cause for discipline, then 
settlement may be offered or formal hearing may proceed. (continued Page 7) 
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Disciplinary actions taken by the Real Estate Appraiser Commission against real estate 
appraiser licensees or those matters relating to unlicensed conduct are reported monthly to the Division of Regulatory 
Boards.  To view the most recent information and archived disciplinary action reports, please visit this web page: 
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/archive.shtml  

 
 
Editorial Request: 
Are you interested in writing an article for the Real Estate Appraiser Commission?  Do you have topics 
that you would like addressed in this newsletter?  Write to us at; Nikole.Avers@tn.gov with your 
thoughts or ideas. 
 

  Real Estate Appraiser Disciplinary Action Report 

If a formal hearing is proceeding formal charges are sent to the Respondent.  The complaint may 
be heard before the Commission then at a meeting.  The Commission members will act in a similar 
manner as a jury.  There will be an administrative law judge at the hearing.  Respondents may 
have their own attorney’s or represent themselves.   
 
Just as a final disclosure: I am not the Commission. That issue comes up more than you might 
think, so I am going to address it. The Commission is made up of nine (9) Governor appointed 
members (T.C.A. 62-39-201).  I am the executive director of the Commission and I do not vote on 
your complaints.  I work for the State, and I am an appraiser just like many of you readers.  I get 
calls from home owners, lenders, AMC agents, appraisers, attorneys, buyer/sellers, and concerned 
citizens.  I don’t decide ultimately what happens to appraisers; the Commission does.  The above 
is my advice on avoided complaint based on seven (7) years’ experience as director and as a real 
estate appraiser for more than thirteen (13). It is not meant to be in lieu of USPAP or as if I am 
speaking on behalf of the Commission.  I can only speak for myself and my experience.  


