# West Tennessee State Penitentiary



# Inmate Rules and Regulations Handbook

April 1, 2018



# **Table of Contents**

Visitation Rules3
Denial and Termination of Visits14
Conditions for Visiting and Visiting Hours16
MSC19 Appropriate Dress for Visitation25
Access to the Visitation Area28
Searches
Debit Vending Machines33
Restrooms36
Transportation and Lodging Information37
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 39
PREA (Prison Rape Elimination Act) 41



This handbook is designed to assist you during your visit at West Tennessee State Penitentiary. Visitation is an important part of the rehabilitation program and we strongly encourage inmates to maintain contact with family and friends during their incarceration.

I would like your visit to be enjoyable and safe as possible. You must adhere to all rules and regulations governing visitation at this facility. These rules are for your own safety while on state property and within the confines of this institution.

I want to assure you that you are welcome and if I may be of assistance to you, please let me know.

Jonathan P. Lebo, Warden West Tennessee State Penitentiary



# West Tennessee State Penitentiary (WTSP) Visitation Handbook

The following is a list of rules and regulations for visitation at WTSP. These regulations are established to maintain order and control to ensure that visitors and inmates can enjoy visiting in a pleasant atmosphere. Visitors and inmates are expected to comply with these rules. Failure to do so could result in suspension of visitation privileges.

# Visitation Rules

- Blank visitation applications may be obtained from the inmate you wish to visit or they may be printed from the TDOC website (www.tn.gov/correction). You may also obtain visitation applications from the visitation supervisor's office at checkpoint but you must pick them up in person.
- 2. Applications shall be mailed to the following address:



Associate Warden of Security – (please specify MSC or Site 2) West Tennessee State Penitentiary P.O. Box 1150 Henning, TN 38041

# Do not mail the application to the inmate because it will not be accepted.

- 3. All visitors, regardless of age, other attorneys and clergymen than must have an approved Visitation application on file which contains a current photograph. Applications must be filled out completely and mailed to the address above. As noted on the Visitation application, all visitor applicants are subject to a NCIC background check. If there any questions, concerns, are complaints or referrals, please call 731-738-5044. ext. 3230 and ask for the Senior Officer.
- No visitor shall be admitted for visitation until the application is approved, except for immediate family members of newly committed inmates. (No more



than 60 days from the inmate intake date shall be allowed for this purpose).

- 5. It takes approximately 30 days to process an application. The inmate will be notified by in-house mail whether or not his visitor is approved. If an application is disapproved, the inmate will be notified of the reason. It will be the inmate's responsibility to notify applicant of the approval or denial. Any application that has been falsified shall be grounds for disapproval and the visitor will not be allowed to resubmit a visitor application for a minimum of six months.
- All immediate family members who apply and eight additional visitors may be approved to visit an inmate upon receipt of their Visitation application. All applications must be updated every two (2) years.



- 7. Visitors under the age of 18, unless married to the inmate being visited, must be accompanied by an approved visitor, who is either, the child's parent, legal guardian or, guardian. The custodial parent or legal guardian must provide notarized permission for the visitor to bring the child to visit and consent for the child to be searched as noted on CR-2152. page 2 of the Visitation application. Also, anyone under eighteen (18) must have a copy of their birth certificate with their application.
- 8. Children aged six (6) or older shall have а photograph (not а photocopy) attached their to Visitation application. This photograph is to be updated every (2) years. Updated two photographs may be requested more frequently if there have been significant changes in the child's appearance.
- 9. Visitors may not be placed on more than one inmate's visitation



list unless they are immediate family and the relationship can be substantiated.

- 10. Additions or substitutions to the approved list shall be made at least quarterly. Applications received seeking approval to visit an inmate, who is not yet eligible for a change to his list, shall be placed in the inmate's visitation file with an explanation note regarding the eligibility date for resubmission. A copy of the explanation note shall be given to the inmate who then should notify the applicant.
- Persons participating as a volunteer within the last 24 months shall not be placed on an inmate's visitation list.
- 12. Visitors the Warden determines could have a harmful influence on the inmate and/or may constitute a threat to the security of the institution shall not be approved for visitation.



- Current or former employees of TDOC, TRICOR, or contract agencies (in Tennessee), interns, and practicum students shall not be approved unless they are immediate family members of an inmate. Former TDOC employees, on a visitation list as of October 1, 1998 shall be allowed to remain on the list.
- 14. An inmate with a current or previous conviction for a crime involving a sexual offense against a minor is restricted from having contact visits with children under 18, except under the guidelines set in a duly signed forth and witnessed CR-3619, Visitation with Minors Agreement. Inmates who refuse to sign CR-3619 shall be restricted to non-contact visits with children.
- A victim of an inmate convicted of a sex offense will not be permitted to visit the inmate unless specifically approved by the



Warden, and then only noncontact visits will be allowed. The inmate must submit a written request to visit with the victim through the Unit Manager to the Warden.

- 16. Only immediate family members with active felony conviction may submit a visitor records application for approval six (6) months following release from incarceration or placement on probation/community corrections or parole supervision. (written consent of supervising officer/counselor is required; as is the Warden's approval)
- 17. Identification is required for all visitors, (i.e., any original method of identification with photograph issued by a local, state or federal agency by which to identify a particular individual), with the exception of persons under the age of 16 provided there is an approved visitor application form with picture on file.



- 18. Only four adult visitors will be allowed to visit at any given time.
- Visitors are not allowed to bring in any type of electronic devices (e.g., cellular phones, beepers, etc., unless approved by Warden).
- 20. Visitors will not be allowed to leave any items with the checkpoint officer. Officers will not be responsible for any items that may be left at checkpoint by visitors.
- Visitors are not allowed to deliver correspondence, money, printed material or packages to inmates. All such items shall be mailed.
- 22. All visitors requesting to pick up packages for inmates must report to checkpoint no later than 8:00 p.m. on Mondays and 3:00 p.m. on weekends/holidays.
- 23. Visitors found with contraband, which is in violation of the law or



departmental policy are subject to enforcement officials.

- 24. Any contraband found during a search will be cause for denial of the visit up to one (1) year, or permanently.
- 25. No one under the influence of drugs or alcohol will be allowed to visit.
- 26. Inflammatory comments, profanity, cursing or threatening other inmates, visitors and/or employees will not be permitted.
- Pushing or attempting to strike others and harassment of inmates, visitors or employees will not be allowed.
- Inappropriate or socially unacceptable physical contact will not be permitted between inmates and visitors.
- 29. The inmate and visitor are permitted to embrace and kiss as



they meet and again as they prepare to depart. Except for this brief moment, no other display of affection is permitted.

- 30. A playroom is available in the main visiting galleries for children under twelve (12) years of age. Visitors are expected to supervise and control children. Inmates are not permitted in this area. Children are not allowed to sit on the half-wall in the playroom area.
- Visitors are required to dress in attire that is not provocative or offensive to others. (See Appropriate Dress for Visitation)
- 32. Inmates in visitation areas shall not sit with their legs crossed over the top of visitor and vice versa. Only acceptable physical contact will be permitted or condoned.
- Both visitor and inmate's shoes must remain on their feet while in the visiting areas.



- 34. All inmates and visitors hands will be in full view of officers at all times (not under the tables or clothing). Visitors are not permitted to wear an inmate's jacket, nor can the inmate wear a visitor's jacket.
- 35. Visitors will not sit on each other laps or the laps of any inmates.
- 36. Visitors must remain seated with the inmate they requested to visit. If a visitor refuses to remain seated with the inmate, the visit will be terminated.
- 37. No property items will be exchanged, i.e., cards, jewelry, shoes, etc.
- 38. TDOC uniforms will be the only clothing inmates will be allowed to wear to access the visitation area, (i.e. TDOC blue shirts/pants). Only a plain white t-shirt or thermal shirt may be worn under the blue TDOC shirt, which must be worn at



all times and cannot be removed in the visiting area. Items inmates are allowed on their person when they enter the visiting area: identification card, wedding band, comb, handkerchief, one (1) deck of playing cards, room keys and prescription glasses.

39. Near the end of visitation, the visitation officer will give a fifteen (15) minute warning that visitation is almost over. When visitation is over, the officer will make that announcement at which time all visitors are expected to leave the visitation area. When departing WTSP sites after visiting, visitors are expected to go from the visitation area directly to their vehicles. No loitering on the parking lot will be permitted.

# **Denial and Termination of Visits**

 Any visitor may be denied entrance to the visiting area for any reason including, but not limited to: TN Department of Correction

- a. Refusing to show proper identification
- b. Refusing to submit to a search
- c. Appearing to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- d. Insufficient space for visiting
- e. Possession of contraband
- f. Inappropriate dress
- g. Displaying of security threat group (STG) symbols or affiliation
- h. Failure to clear the walkthrough detector at any facility
- Reasons for warning or termination of visitation include, but are not limited to:
  - a. Inmates or visitors who violate visitation conduct rules
  - b. Failure by visitors to control their children



# <u>Conditions for Visiting and Visiting</u> <u>Hours</u>

 Visitation for general population and MSC will occur on the following days and time:

Monday	6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Sunday	8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Holidays	8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

- 2. Monday night visitation is allowed only for the purpose of providing visitation privileges to inmates who are unable to visit on weekends due to work schedules or other conflicts. Inmates who visit on Saturday or Sunday will not be allowed to visit on Monday night.
- Visitation on holidays will be conducted according to a published schedule posted by the Warden.
- 4. Visitation may be ended at any time with the on-set of severe



weather conditions or due to an institutional emergency.

- 5. Inmates who are patients in the institutional infirmary shall not be allowed visits during the first seven days of confinement. After the seven days, the attending shall physician make the determination of whether the patient is able to receive a visit. Visits are restricted to Saturday and Sunday, only. The non-contact visiting room shall be used and approved visits shall be limited to one hour according the above schedule.
- 6. Inmates assigned to an outside hospital may be allowed visitation upon approval from the Warden.
- 7. Administrative Segregation inmates shall be allowed to visit only upon approval of the Unit Manager/designee for no longer than one hour with up to two immediate family members, every two weeks. Visitation shall occur



within the non-contact rooms located within the unit or the security building as appropriate. This will occur during the scheduled visitation hours, will be on a first come basis, and will be subject to space availability. Only immediate family members, ministers, and attorneys are allowed to visit an administrative segregation inmate.

- 8. Inmates assigned to the SMU (Security Management Unit) will be allowed visitation. Inmates on Phase I will be allowed a one (1) hour, non-contact, visit with immediate family ONLY, who must be on their approved list. Inmates on Phase II will be allowed a two (2) hour non-contact visit with visitors their on approved visitation list. Phase III inmates will be allowed a contact visit in the gallery.
- 9. Newly admitted offenders must provide the names of immediate family members on their initial



visitation list. They are not allowed to visit for the 7 days following arrival. After the first seven days, they shall be allowed visits in the noncontact visitation rooms until classified.

10. All protective custody inmates shall visit in the non-contact rooms in the security building across from operations. Due to space limitations, visits shall not exceed one hour. Only two visitors will be allowed to visit. All visits **must** be pre-approved by the unit manager or designee.

# Minimum Security Complex (MSC)

The following special conditions and schedules will apply to WTSP's Minimum Security Complex (MSC).

 At the discretion of the Warden, the outside visitation area at MSC may be opened from April 1<sup>st</sup> through October 31<sup>st</sup>.



- 2. During other months, visitation will be conducted in the dayroom of the MSC.
- The picnic area will be open on Saturdays – April, May, June, and the first half of July. It will be open on Sundays – the last half July, August, September and October.
- 4. The picnic area will only be available to inmates housed at MSC.
- Each inmate will be limited to four
  (4) adult visitors and accompanying children.
- 6. Available space limitations may result in some modifications of inmates allowed on the picnic area.
- If overcrowding occurs, visitors and inmates may be asked to share tables to ensure everyone gets an opportunity to picnic without restrictions.



- 8. The following items may be brought in by visitors who access the picnic area:
  - a. Charcoal, self-starting only (no starting fluid allowed)
  - b. Plastic utensils only
  - c. Napkins, paper towels
  - d. Tablecloths not to exceed 3 inches from the table
  - e. Condiments mustard, ketchup, mayo, bar-be-que sauce, etc. (all items <u>must</u> be in sealed individual packets or in clear containers/bags)
  - f. Tomatoes, onions, lettuce, pickles – clear containers only
  - g. Dips (dip in can only)
  - h. Snack cakes individually wrapped
  - i. Pies factory sealed
  - j. Potato salad, cole slaw factory sealed
  - k. All meat must be factory sealed – chicken, steak, pork, hamburger meat, hot dogs, etc.



- 1. Sandwich meats sliced and factory sealed
- m. Cheese sliced and factory sealed
- n. Bread loaf or buns
- o. Cooler made of styrofoam only

# \*\*\*All items on this list may be subject to change.

- 9. No items will be allowed packaged in glass containers.
- 10. No canned items (except canned dips, metal top will be removed at shakedown).
- 11. No Jell-O or puddings allowed.
- 12. If an item is not on the approved list, it will not be allowed into the institution. No exceptions will be made. Visitor will be given the choice to take the item back to the vehicle or dispose of the item(s). \*The amount of food permitted must be in proportion



# to the number of persons visiting the inmate.

- 13. The approved picnic items will only be admitted in the amount that will be used. The visitor shall carry all items not used during the picnic visit out of the area. The inmate will carry no items out of the visiting area.
- 14. Towels will be limited to two (2); one (1) small, one (1) medium.
- 15. Tablecloths used on the picnic area shall be folded even with the table and not allowed to drape more than 3" beyond the edge of the table (45" x 74" in size) No sheets will be allowed to substitute for a table cloth.
- 16. Picnic tables are not to be moved during the visit.
- 17. Visitors and inmates will not be permitted to sit on top of the picnic tables, lay on the ground,



picnic benches, concrete pads or sidewalks.

- All containers/coolers will be placed on the side of the tables (not on top) as to obstruct officer's view.
- 19. No children will be allowed in grill area.
- 20. Visiting parents shall supervise children while playing; failure to do so may result in termination of visit.
- 21. All trash should be placed in proper receptacles.
- 22. Please remember that this is a privilege and as such, it can be taken away at any time for any violation or misconduct.
- During the picnic area operational months, outside visitation may be moved inside, at the discretion of the visitation supervisor, should



the following conditions occur including but not limited to:

- 1. Inclement weather
- 2. Continuous drenching rain
- 3. Temperature and/or windchill below 32 degrees
- 4. Tornado and/or severe thunderstorm warning

# Appropriate Dress for Visitation

Visitors shall be expected to comply with the following basic dress requirements.

- The following clothing items are <u>not</u> considered proper attire for visitors and will <u>not</u> be allowed:
  - Iow cut, halter or tank tops
  - sleeveless tops, shirts, blouses or dresses (unless part of suit attire, worn with a jacket, blouse or sweater and cannot be removed during the visit)
  - see-thru blouses or transparent clothing
  - backless tops or dresses
  - shorts, skirts or dresses more than 3" above the knee and

TN Department of

dresses or skirts with splits 3" above the knee

- no type of work out clothing (this includes jogging suits)
- wrap-around skirts that wrap less than 1½ times
- spandex/lycra clothing or any spandex like material with stretch to them
- camouflage clothing
- STG (gang) related clothing (as determined by the OIC)
- steel-toed shoes, shower shoes, house shoes or flip flops/flip flop style shoes
- worn or tattered clothing with holes or slits
- bandanas
- button-up dresses
- ➤ cut-off jeans
- solid white or solid gray teeshirts
- pants with writing across the buttocks
- ≻ pajamas
- medical scrubs
- any clothing, including hats, with team, company, pro or college logos



- Iow-rise or hip-hugger pants
- hoodies
- no tight fitting/body clinging clothing such as skinny jeans, form fitting pants/dresses
- no shoes with heels taller than three inches (3"). All shoes MUST have a visible back or strap
- sandals with foam soles
- wrap around skirts that wrap around more than 1 ½ times
- Undergarments (bras, panties, underwear, slips under skirts or dresses) will be worn at all times. (Samples of undergarments deemed inappropriate are thongs and water brassieres.)
- 3. Visitors are expected to dress in attire that is not provocative or offensive to others. If a visitor's appearance is deemed provocative and/or offensive, this shall be grounds for denial of a visit by the senior officer.



- 4. All visitors including children are expected to wear shoes and, shoes must have a visible back or strap.
- 5. Visitors may not wear excessive clothing such as two pairs of pants or an extra shirt under their top layer of clothing.
- Inmates may wear a coat to the visiting gallery; however, once inside the coat must be removed. Visitors wearing jackets or coats must leave them on or place them to the side. At no time will they be used for cover.
- If there is any question regarding visitor's attire it will be up to the discretion of the senior officer.

#### Access to the Visitation Area

 Visitors will park in the area designated for visitor parking. Parking in official visitors designated parking places or any other area will not be permitted. Visitors who are handicapped will



be permitted to park in the designated handicap spaces. The visitation areas for the main compound and MSC are accessible to the handicapped.

- 2. All visitors who enter state property in a personal vehicle shall be required to raise windows, lock the vehicle and remove keys prior to leaving the vehicle. No one will be permitted to remain in a personal vehicle on state property.
- 3. WTSP is a <u>Tobacco Free Institution</u>. Tobacco, tobacco related products, and paraphernalia, electronic cigarettes, nicotine replacement items, matches, lighters, rolling papers, etc., are prohibited.
- 4. All visitors will be processed at the checkpoint area and MSC. On entry, each visitor will sign a roster, be processed on the computer, and have their hand stamped with ultra-violet ink. Visitors will be called in the order of registration on the sign-in roster. Once called,



visitors must go directly to the shakedown area. Visitors must control children while in the area. If the senior officer sees that children cannot be controlled while at checkpoint, visitation will not be allowed.

 On exiting checkpoint and the MSC lobby, all visitors will enter their vehicles without conversing across the fence to inmate, and leave the institutional parking lot. Violators will be subject to suspensions.

#### <u>Searches</u>

- 1. All visitors entering WTSP property shall be subject to search.
- Visitors entering the secure perimeter of the institutions will be frisk searched. Other searches may be authorized as deemed necessary by the Warden or designee.



- 3. All items carried by visitors shall also be searched before entering the institution.
- 4. There are signs posted on the highway and checkpoint concerning searches; please read the signs and adhere to them.
- 5. Vehicle searches - from time to time the institution shall perform a search of all vehicles entering the property. All persons shall be responsible for any contraband items found in their vehicles. In the event contraband is found. local and state law enforcement officials may issue written citations, make arrests or confiscate visitors' vehicles and belongings. It is illegal to possess the following on state property: alcohol beverages, edged weapons of any type (knives, swords, etc.), drugs, any type of medication that cannot be readily identified by being in the original containers or producing a prescription. Visitors who are suspected of introducing



contraband into the facility may be required to visit in a non-contact booth. In this situation, there will be no physical contact between inmates and visitors.

- 6. Persons with valid handgun carry permits recognized in Tennessee may transport and store a firearm or firearm ammunition in the permit holder's privately owned motor vehicle:
  - a. If the permit holder's secured vehicle is parked in a location where it is permitted to be.
  - b. If the firearm or ammunition being transported or stored in the vehicle is kept from ordinary observation if the permit holder is in the vehicle
  - c. If the firearm or ammunition is kept from ordinary observation and locked within the trunk, glove box, or interior of the person's privately owned vehicle or a container securely attached to such vehicle if the



permit holder is not in the vehicle.

7. Drug K-9's may be used during vehicle searches.

# Visitors will be allowed to take the following items into the visitation area:

- 1. Keys
- 2. Identification cards
- 3. Diapers
- 4. Plastic baby bottles with milk (formula MUST be premixed)
- 5. Unopened, sealed baby food (no glass containers)

Visitor shall leave all other item in their personal vehicle.

# **Debit Vending Machines**

There is a one-time fee of \$3 for the purchase/activation of a debit card. You **MUST** purchase this card with a **\$5 bill**. Debit cards will be credited in \$1.00 increments. Additional credits may be added to the card as needed. This debit



card is the personal property of the visitor and the visitor is responsible for this card. No cash or coins will be permitted in the visitation area.

The visitation staff is not responsible for loss of money in either the debit card or vending machines.

# Inmate Telephone System (ITS)

- 1. Family and friends can now send money for deposit to an inmate's telephone trust fund account. The cost of any telephone call made by an inmate using the telephone trust fund system will be discounted 10%.
- All funds placed in an inmate's telephone trust fund account can only be used to make telephone calls. These funds are not subject to any fees, cannot be withdrawn by the inmate and will not affect the status of any indigent inmate.



- 3. The following is how you can send funds for deposit to an inmate's telephone trust fund account:
  - a. U.S. Postal money order
  - b. Bank Cashier's Check
  - c. Other type of money orders
- 4. Telephone credits can be purchased in whole dollar amounts only. The minimum telephone credits purchased amount is \$5.00.
- 5. The money order or check shall be made to the order of "State of Tennessee". The inmate's full name and TDOC number must be noted in the "For" space.
- 6. The money order or cashier's check must be mailed to:

Global Tel Link Dept. 1705 Denver, CO 80291-1705



- 7. The sender must indicate his/her name and address on the money order. If a cashier's check is sent, the sender must include a note indicating the sender's name and address.
- 8. There is also a website available for more information:

#### www.offenderconnect.com

#### <u>Restrooms</u>

- Visitor restrooms are clearly marked female and male visitor. Inmate restrooms are clearly marked. At no time will inmates access the visitor's restroom or vice versa.
- 2. Female visitors will be allowed to bring sealed sanitary napkins with them to checkpoint where those items will be inspected.
- Minor children using the restrooms must be accompanied by an adult visitor. No children are



to be left at checkpoint for any reason.

#### <u>Transportation and Lodging</u> <u>Information</u>

Greyhound Bus Stations are located in Memphis and Jackson, TN. The telephone numbers are 901-395-8778 (Memphis) and 731-427-1573 (Jackson).

There is no local taxi service. The nearest taxicab services are:

Eight-O-Two Cab	200 N. Munford St.,
Covington, TN	901-476-9802

#### **Motel/Hotel Accommodations**

Days Inn 555 Highway 51 North Ripley, TN 38063 731-635-7378

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 315 Lake Drive Ripley, TN 38063 731-419-2603



Hunter Lodge 765 Highway 51 South, Ripley, TN 731-635-8181 Best Western Inn 873 Highway 51 North, Covington, TN 901-476-8561 Comfort Inn 891 Highway 51 North, Covington, TN 901-475-0381 Super 8 Motel 1053 Highway 51 North, Covington, TN 901-475-1111 Days Inn 80 Denna Cove, Covington, TN 901-475-1177

# <u>Directions to West Tennessee State</u> <u>Penitentiary (WTSP):</u>

From Nashville – take I-40 to the Brownsville exit (#56). Make a right turn, this is Highway 76, make a left turn at the 4-Way stop sign (Hwy #70/76/19JCT). Continue through two 4-way stop signs until coming to Highway 19 East/West, making a left turn onto Hwy 19 going west. Travel Hwy 19 until it ends at Hwy 51 Bypass. Make a left turn onto Hwy 51 bypass south. Follow Hwy 51 bypass



south approximately five miles to Henning. At the red light, make a right turn onto Hwy 87 west follow it approximately 12 miles to West Tennessee State Penitentiary.

From Memphis – follow Danny Thomas Blvd (turns into Hwy 51 by-pass) approximately 46 miles to Henning. Make a left turn onto Hwy 87 west; follow it approximately 12 miles to West Tennessee State Penitentiary (WTSP).

#### Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 states that "No person in the United States shall, on the grounds of race, color, or national origin, be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance." It requires federally assisted programs be free of discrimination and the TDOC requires that all its services be offered equally to eligible persons regardless of race, color, or national origin.



A person alleging discrimination based on race, color, or national origin in the delivery of any service or program may file a complaint with the TDOC. All such complaints must be filed within one hundred eighty (180) days of the occurrence of the alleged discriminatory act via letter to the Associate Warden of Treatment, West Tennessee State Penitentiary, or to other appropriate agencies such as the Tennessee Human Rights Commission, U.S. Department of Justice, etc. Addresses are listed below:

Wanda Markland, Associate Warden of Treatment West Tennessee State Penitentiary P.O. Box 1150 Henning, TN 38041-1150 731-738-5044 ext 2230

Tennessee Human Rights Commission 710 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243-1219

U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division 950 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W.



Washington, DC 20530

# PREA (Prison Rape Elimination Act)

It is the policy of the TDOC to provide a safe, humane, and appropriately secure environment, free from threat of sexual abuse and sexual harassment for all inmates, by maintaining a program of prevention, detection, response, investigation, and tracking of all alleged and substantiated sexual assaults and sexual harassment. TDOC has zero tolerance for incidences of sexual abuse and/or sexual harassment within its facilities.

The TDOC shall have an absolute zero tolerance towards sexual acts between staff and inmates as well as inmates and inmates. There are no consensual sexual acts in a custodial or supervisory relationship. Any sexual abuse or sexual harassment between employees and inmates is inconsistent with the professional, ethical principles, and polices of the TDOC. There are also no consensual sexual contacts between



inmates. All allegations of sexual abuse shall be reported and will be investigated.

If you feel that you have witnessed one of these acts, or are a victim of one, immediately report it to the Officer in Charge. The PREA Coordinator at WTSP is:

Wanda Markland Associate Warden of Treatment West Tennessee State Penitentiary P.O. Box 1150 Henning, TN 38041-1150 731-738-5044 ext 2230

Institutional handbooks may also be located at the web address: <u>https://www.tn.gov/correction/sp/visit</u> <u>ation.html</u>